Faith and the INTJ: Part 2

Someone wrote this comment on one of my blog posts: “Sorry to inform you, but there is no way you can be an INTJ if you’re religious. Note that INTJ’s are logical, religious beliefs are not logical, also INTJ’s are smart, religious people are not smart. Hence, why you cannot be an INTJ if you believe a magic man in the sky created the universe in a week.”

Read Part 1 of my response.  This is Part 2.

It is true that I did not arrive at “Jesus Christ = Lord and Savior” by logic.  I arrived at Jesus Christ through Jesus Christ alone.

Which brings me to the second part of the commenter’s post.  “Note that INTJ’s are logical, religious beliefs are not logical, also INTJ’s are smart, religious people are not smart.”

I assure you that I am an INTJ.  Am I smart?  I suppose it depends how you define smart.  My IQ is high enough to garner acceptance into Mensa, which I did join several years ago.  Am I logical?  Ugh, I cannot get away from logical analysis of even the most mundane or trivial issues.  Case in point: this blog post.

Proverbs 3: 5 reads

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding

God says that we are not to lean on our own understanding.  Why?  Because who are we to think that we, who live in one place at one time understand or know more than the God of the universe who is everywhere and outside of time (thus seeing all of time at once)?  As Matt Chandler, pastor of the Village Church, puts it: you can watch one millisecond of a movie (what our lives would amount to if all of history were condensed into one hour), and I will watch the entire movie, and we can then argue about what the movie is about.  Our own understanding is limited.  We do not know what is going on in our neighbor’s home right now, much less our neighborhood, much less our city, much less our country, much less the universe.

Proverbs 16:25

There is a way that appears to be right, but in the end it leads to death.

Much of what seems logical or “right” to us is fallible.  Since sin is, in large part, blindness to our own sin, we can barely see beyond our own logic and opinions, and the arguably skewed worldview of our current culture and society.  Our limited position in time and space influence what is logically right to us.  I may look at a Styrofoam from the side and see a trapezoid shape.  You may look at it from directly overhead and see a circle.  Who is “right”?  Logic led us both to different conclusions.  Again, we are limited in time and space and thus cannot know all.

Arguably, an aspect of intelligence is the realization that there is much we do not know.

Incidentally, we all have faith.

Hebrews 11:1

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

We all have confidence in and assurance about what we do not see.  We have confidence that our car will start when we turn the ignition, though we are not looking at its inner workings to know if something is broken or the engine is missing.  We have assurance that we will not float into the air as we walk about, though we cannot see gravity itself.  Faith as defined in Hebrews 11 applies to all of humanity and does not exclude any of the personality types.

 

    • Mary
    • June 5th, 2012

    Thank you so much for these posts. Looks like they’re brand new, too. I’m an INFJ and a Christian. Thankfully the Holy Spirit is available to testify the ‘hearts of men’ … if we were to soley depend upon our own logic we’d be up a creek. I appreciate your words so very much.

    • Anonymous
    • December 12th, 2012

    As a Christian INTJ, I truly respect your insight. It baffles me that one can find so much pride in simply taking a “test” that puts them in a pigeon-holed category of the type of people they are. They fail to believe in God, they fail to see his love but they are quick to believe a free online personality test that was probably made by a lonesome school drop-out who can’t do anything better with their lives.

    I do have trouble with faith and believing, but I only find it hard to believe “ideas” that mere human beings conjure up. There is no doubt deep down in my heart and my mind that my God is true. I cannot prove it to you, nor can I explain it logically.

    Yes this is a leap of faith (as most INTJs would say) but faith is all you need. The Lord says “come as you are”. Through Him I have learnt how to love and it’s an amazing feeling. I am truly blessed. Proverbs 3:5 says “Trust not your own understanding”. God has the greatest knowledge and intelligence of all time. Examine your own bodies…The delicate detailing. None of you would have thought of that! (17, South Africa)

    • Zac
    • December 12th, 2012

    God bless you 🙂

    • PrayLoveBlog
    • January 26th, 2013

    Wow! I’ve always been the silent reader never leaving comments. But your blog has blessed me more than I can express! I’m so excited to read more and see your journey, you are very inspirational and I truly admire your heart for Christ! I can’t tell you how much your INJF posts reached me. God surely used you tonight. I myself posted for the first time on my blog that I was an introvert. And I was kind of Leary of doing it, because the backlash that sometimes comes from extrovert Christians who don’t understand. And then I stunned across your page and just wow! Thank you so much for sharing! My very next free day is going to consist of a bag of popcorn and your blog! Thanks again so much for your post! And I look forward to following your journey! God bless you and your family!

    With warm thoughts and an awakward introverted hug lol Trish 🙂

    • PrayLoveBlog
    • January 26th, 2013

    *INTF sorry lol I’m an *INJF LOL

  1. I just found this site last night and have finally found something that makes a lot of sense to me. I am pretty sure after taking several tests on the web, and studying about the INTJ traits, That I must be one. I can very much relate to the strengths of an INTJ, and at the same time feel very exposed and vulnerable to these weaknesses of it as well. Does anyone have a link, with advise on how I can improve my relational skills beyond that of the romantic relationships part. It is also awesome that this is a Christian friendly site. Thanks & God Bless!

  2. Great post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

